This is an open Forum - visible to Members and non-Members

Privacy on Devon Zone

Just to let everyone know the Member page and profile pages are private to Guests, non-members.

Some General Privacy tips are below:

SAFETY SETTINGS FOR MEMBERS

CHOOSE THE PRIVACY SETTINGS FOR YOUR PROFILE INFORMATION AND PROFILE PAGE

You have full control over how you display your information on Devon Zone. 

You can opt to not display your birthday, age, gender and location on your profile page.

In addition, you can change the privacy level of your profile page and list of friends at any time. Your profile page and list of friends can be set to be visible to just your friends, or to all members.

To change the privacy setting of your profile page and list of friends, click the “Settings” link in the upper right corner of the page and then the “Privacy” link in the left column. Below “My profile page and friends can be viewed by…” choose the option you feel comfortable with.

To opt to not display your gender, birthday or age, click the “Settings” link in the upper right corner of the page. On this page, you can select “Don’t display my birthday or age” from the dropdown menu below your birthday and check the “Don’t Display” box next to your gender.

LIMIT WHO CAN VIEW YOUR EVENTS

You can change your privacy settings so that just you or your friends can view your events. To do this, click the “Settings” link in the upper right corner of the page and then the “Privacy” link in the left column. Below “My events can be viewed by…” choose the option you feel comfortable with. By default, your events may be accessed by anyone who browses Devon Zone.

LIMIT WHO CAN VIEW YOUR PHOTOS, VIDEOS AND BLOG

You can change your privacy settings so that only you or your friends can view the photos, videos and blog posts you upload. To do this, click the “Settings” link in the upper right corner of the page and then the “Privacy” link in the left column. Below “My blog, photos and videos can be viewed by…” choose the option you feel comfortable with. By default, your blog, photos and videos may be accessed by anyone who browses Devon Zone.

You can also decide who is able to view your photos, videos and blog posts on Devon Zone when you add the specific photo(s), video(s) or blog post. At the time of upload, you can choose whether the content is viewable to just you, just your friends or to anyone. If you want to change the privacy setting on a specific photo, video or blog post after it has been uploaded, go to the detail page for that photo, video or blog post.

  • For photos, click the “Edit Photo” link below the photo.
  • For videos, click the “Edit Video” link below the video.
  • For blog posts, click the “Edit Post” link in the “Admin Options” box.

Select the new privacy settings you would like and click “Save Changes.” By default, your photos, videos and blog may be accessed by anyone who browses Devon Zone.

RESTRICT COMMENTS ON YOUR PHOTOS, VIDEOS AND BLOG

You can decide who can comment on your photos, videos and blog. To change this setting, click the “Settings” link in the right column of the page and then the “Privacy” link in the left column. Below “Comments on my blog, photos and videos can be added by…” you can choose to allow just you or just your friends to comment on your photos, videos and blog. Additionally, you have full control over the comments that other people post on your photos, videos, and blog posts. To delete any comment on your content, click the “x” that appears to the right of the comment. By default, any member of Devon Zone can comment on the content you’ve uploaded.

APPROVE COMMENTS ON YOUR BLOG BEFORE THEY’RE PUBLISHED

You can choose to approve comments to your blog before they’re published. This means that when someone comments on a blog post you’ve written, it will not appear right away. You can review the comment and choose to approve or delete it – before anyone else sees it. To do this, click on the “Settings” link and then the “Privacy” link in the left column. Below “When someone adds a comment on my blog…” select “Wait for my approval.” By default, when someone comments on your blog, it’s published immediately.

APPROVE COMMENTS ON YOUR PROFILE PAGE BEFORE THEY’RE PUBLISHED

You can choose to approve comments to your profile page before they’re published. This means that when someone comments on your profile page, it will not appear right away. You can review the comment and choose to approve or delete it – before anyone else sees it. To do this, click on the “Settings” link in the right column of the page and then the “Privacy” link in the left column. Below “When someone adds a comment on my profile…” in the Moderation section, select “Wait for my approval.” By default, when someone comments on your profile page, it’s published immediately.

APPROVE VIRTUAL GIFTS BEFORE THEY APPEAR

You can choose to approve virtual gifts before they’re accepted and published on your profile page. This means that when someone gives you a gift, it will not appear right away. You can review the gift and choose to approve or delete it – before anyone else sees it. To do this, click on the “Settings” link in the right column of the page and then the “Privacy” link. Below “When someone sends me a gift…” select “Wait for my approval.” Additionally, you can make a public gift private or delete a gift at any time. To do so, click on the gift and then select “Make Private” or “Delete” in the Admin Options section. By default, when someone sends you a gift, it’s accepted and published immediately.

CONTROL WHICH ACTIONS APPEAR IN LATEST ACTIVITY

The Latest Activity stream never displays messages you send, pages or profiles you view, invitations you decline or people you de-friend or decline. Beyond that, you can control which of your activities appear in Devon Zone’s Latest Activity stream. To do this, click on the “Settings” link in the right column of the page and then the “Privacy” link. Below “Publish an item in Latest Activity when I…” choose which actions you’re comfortable with appearing in the Latest Activity stream on the main page. You can also delete any of your items from Latest Activity stream immediately on your profile page or on Devon Zone’s main page by hovering your mouse over the item you’d like to remove and clicking the “X” that appears next to it. By default, most of your actions on Devon Zone will appear as a Latest Activity item. This includes new content and comments you add, friendships you confirm, updates to your profile, and when you RSVP to events.

CONTROL WHO CAN SEND YOU MESSAGES

When you join Devon Zone, you can only send and receive messages with specific kinds of people. You can exchange messages with the Network Creator and any Network Administrators, the group creator and administrators of any groups you choose to join, and your friends on the Devon Zone. To control who can send you messages, be mindful of who you add or accept as a friend and be aware that anyone you make a friendship with will be able to contact you. If you don’t know someone who has requested to be your friend, your best bet is to ignore their friend request.

BLOCK MESSAGES FROM SOMEONE

If you no longer want to receive messages from someone, you can block them from contacting you via private message in a few simple steps. Go to your inbox and locate a message from the person you want to block, open the message and click the “Block messages” link. You can also block messages via a member’s profile page. This way, you can block messages from someone to prevent them from ever sending you a message. Below their profile photo, click the “Block Messages” link.

You need to be a member of Devon Zone to add comments!

Join Devon Zone

Email me when people reply –